Alabama

Green Processing Sees Alabama as Gateway to More Automotive Business

Photo: Jeremy Carroll / Plastics NewsIn 2015, Alabama's automakers produced more than one million cars and light trucks—  a new state record. As the state is home to a large cadre of international automotive manufacturers and suppliers, Canada's Green Processing Co., Inc. saw an opportunity for strategic expansion.

Founded less than a decade ago, Green Processing refurbishes and recycles plastic and metal automotive containers that transport parts from Tier 1 and Tier 2 automotive suppliers. The company also recycles excess or damaged parts discarded by vehicle manufacturers.

Driven by Southeastern U.S. customer demand to broaden its reach, company officials looked for a location to join operations in Texas and Ohio. In 2016, company officials announced plans to expand to Birmingham. The new location will initially employ a dozen staff, with plans to gradually expand to 25.

Canfor Selects Mobile for U.S. Headquarters

Based in Canada, Canfor is one of North America's largest forest products companies. The company's product lines include lumber, pulp, paper and wood pellets used to produce energy. It has nearly 40 manufacturing facilities in Canada, U.S., Europe and Asia.

With continued growth in the Southeast, Canfor sought a strategic location for its US headquarters. With saw mills, manufacturing plants and a trucking company located from Arkansas to the Carolinas, Alabama offered a central location. In 2016, the company announced that its U.S. branch will operate from Mobile as Canfor Southern Pine. The establishment of the new headquarters will also bring 20 executive level and administrative jobs to Mobile.

Alabama–Canada trade

  • Alabama exports to Canada: $4.1 billion
  • Alabama imports from Canada: $2.1 billion
  • Bilateral trade: $6.2 billion
  • Alabama services exports to Canada: $394 million

Alabama–Canada tourism

  • Alabama visits by Canadians: 98,500
  • Alabama vacation spending by Canadians: $37 million

Alabama’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Automobiles: $1.9 billion
  • Engines & turbines: $536 million
  • Motor vehicle parts: $350 million
  • Iron & steel alloys & semi-finished products: $132 million
  • Aircraft: $114 million

Alabama’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Crude petroleum: $235 million
  • Aluminum & aluminum articles: $217 million
  • Motor vehicle parts: $165 million
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $120 million
  • Furniture & bedding: $111 million

Alabama exports to Canada by industry

  • Transportation (57%)
  • Equipment & machinery (23%)
  • Minerals & metals (8%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (4%)
  • Chemicals (3%)
  • Forest products (2%)
  • Other (3%)

Alabama imports from Canada by industry

  • Minerals & metals (20%)
  • Equipment & machinery (18%)
  • Energy (13%)
  • Transportation (12%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (10%)
  • Forest products (7%)
  • Other (21%)

Alabama Jobs

  • 111,200 Alabama jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

Alabama top services exports to Canada

  • Business, professional & technical services: $94 million
  • Royalties: $38 million
  • Insurance: $12 million
  • Financial services: $7 million
  • Telecommunications: $3 million

Highlights

  • 111,200 jobs in Alabama depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is Alabama’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–Alabama goods trade: $6.2 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on Alabama’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Atlanta.

February 2017
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2016 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2017 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2015 services trade (1/2017 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Alabama

Green Processing voit l’Alabama comme une porte d’entrée pour accroître les activités de l’industrie automobile

Photo : Jeremy Carroll / Plastics NewsEn 2015, les constructeurs automobiles de l’Alabama ont fabriqué plus d’un million de voitures et camions légers — un nouveau record pour l’État. Étant donné que l’État accueille un grand nombre de fabricants et fournisseurs internationaux de véhicules automobiles, l’entreprise canadienne Green Processing Co., Inc. y a vu l’occasion d’une expansion stratégique.

Fondée il y a moins d’une décennie, Green Processing répare et recycle les conteneurs en plastique et en métal du secteur de l’automobile qui transportent des pièces des fournisseurs des niveaux 1 et 2 de ce secteur. L’entreprise recycle également les pièces excédentaires ou endommagées que les constructeurs automobiles ont rejetées.

Sous l’impulsion de la demande des clients des É.-U. du Sud-Est qui souhaitaient élargir leur champ d’action, les dirigeants de l’entreprise ont cherché un emplacement permettant de participer à des opérations au Texas et en Ohio. En 2016, les dirigeants de la compagnie ont annoncé leur intention de s’implanter à Birmingham. Au départ, la nouvelle localisation emploiera une dizaine d’employés, avec des plans de les augmenter peu à peu à 25.

Canfor choisit Mobile pour son siège aux É.-U.

Établie au Canada, Canfor est l’une des plus importantes entreprises de produits forestiers en Amérique du Nord. Ses gammes de produits comprennent le bois d’oeuvre, la pâte, le papier et les granulés de bois utilisés pour produire de l’énergie. Elle compte près de 40 installations de fabrication au Canada, aux É.-U., en Europe et en Asie.

Alors qu’elle connaît une croissance continue dans le Sud-Est, Canfor a cherché un emplacement stratégique pour son siège aux É.-U. Avec des scieries, des usines de fabrication et une entreprise de camionnage qui s’étendent de l’Arkansas aux Carolines, l’Alabama offrait une localisation centrale. En 2016, l’entreprise a annoncé que sa filiale des É.-U. allait opérer depuis Mobile sous le nom de Canfor Southern Pine. L’implantation du nouveau siège portera également à 20 le nombre d’emplois administratifs et de direction à Mobile.

Commerce Alabama–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises de l’AL vers le Canada : 4,1 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises de l’AL en provenance du Canada : 2,1 milliards $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 6,2 milliards $
  • Exportations de services de l’AL vers le Canada : 394 millions $

Tourisme Alabama–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens en AL : 99 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens en AL : 37 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises en  Alabama vers le Canada

  • Automobiles : 1,9 milliards $
  • Moteurs et turbines : 536 millions $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 350 millions $
  • Alliages de fer et d’acier et produits semi-finis : 132 millions $
  • Aéronefs : 114 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises de l’ Alabama en provenance du Canada

  • Pétrole brut : 235 millions $
  • Aluminium et articles en aluminium : 217 millions $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 165 millions $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 120 millions $
  • Meubles et literie : 111 millions $

Alabama exporte 4,1 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Transports (57 %)
  • Équipement et machines (23 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (8 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (4 %)
  • Produits chimiques (3 %)
  • Produits forestiers (2 %)
  • Autres (3 %)

Alabama importe 2,1 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Minerals et métaux (20 %)
  • Équipement et machines (18 %)
  • Énergie (13 %)
  • Transports (12 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (10 %)
  • Produits forestiers (7 %)
  • Autres (21 %)
111 200 emplois en Alabama dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services en  Alabama vers le Canada

  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 94 millions $
  • Redevances: 38 millions $
  • Services d’assurance: 12 millions $
  • Services financiers: 7 millions $
  • Télécommunications: 3 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 111 200 emplois en Alabama dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client en Alabama
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Alabama : 6,2 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et l’Alabama, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Atlanta.

Septembre 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2014 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (8/2016, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.