Southern California

A Greener Future

In Southern California, Canadian companies are hard at work on projects protecting the environment and combatting climate change. UV Pure's state-of-the-art water purification system at the LA Cleantech Incubator treats up to 600 gallons/day. The multilevel groundwater monitoring network constructed by OCWD using Westbay technology enables the District to effectively manage groundwater recharge, potable water extraction and confirm in-situ quality. Brookfield Renewable operates five wind farms and one hydroelectric facility. Solar Provider Group operates commercial solar projects powering hundreds of homes in the region. The RBC Blue Water Project helps provide access to drinkable water for Californians with its grants to local charitable organizations.

On Screens Big & Small

Canadian talent like Ryan Gosling, Ellen Page, Seth Rogen, Tatiana Maslany, Drake, Alessia Cara and The Weeknd are at the forefront of the film, television and music industries. Across Southern California there are Canadians shaping and creating Hollywood magic. IMAX supplies the most advanced viewing technology showcasing creative content around the world. D-BOX and Moment Factory create augmented audience experiences —  opening new physical and emotional dimensions using their cutting-edge motion systems and interactive digital environments. Global independent studio Entertainment One develops, produces, finances and distributes entertainment content. Canadians are also vanguards of IT innovation. In San Diego, CGI Technologies and Solutions manages and technologically transforms more than 300 software applications for 50+ government departments.

Innovation Economy

Canadian companies across the innovation landscape are committed to bringing new ideas and products to Southern California's dynamic economy. Orange County's life sciences hub hosts the Canadian-held Bausch & Lomb, a key player in cutting-edge eyecare. Omni-Lite Industries, in Southern California for more than 20 years, and its sister company, California Nanotechnologies, continue to innovate in the material sciences, medical devices for aerospace and defense industries. Calgary-based Solium provides software solutions for employee equity plan administration locally and worldwide. TriPhase Accelerator Corporation is developing cancer therapeutics in San Diego, where local strategic partnerships facilitate the advancement of life-saving drugs.

California–Canada trade

  • California exports to Canada: $16.2 billion
  • California imports from Canada: $27.8 billion
  • Bilateral trade: $44.0 billion
  • California services exports to Canada: $9.2 billion

California–Canada tourism

  • California visits by Canadians: 1,880,700
  • California vacation spending by Canadians: $1.7 billion

California’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Telephones & AV recording equipment: $1.8 billion
  • Fruits & nuts: $1.6 billion
  • Computers: $1.5 billion
  • Vegetables: $905 million
  • Optical, medical & precision instruments: $844 million

California’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Automobiles: $18.1 billion
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $526 million
  • Animal meats: $451 million
  • Furniture & bedding: $427 million
  • Animal feed & food industry residues: $410 million

California exports to Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (44%)
  • Agriculture (25%)
  • Transportation (7%)
  • Minerals & metals (5%)
  • Chemicals (5%)
  • Apparel & textiles (3%)
  • Other (10%)

California imports from Canada by industry

  • Transportation (67%)
  • Agriculture (9%)
  • Equipment & machinery (5%)
  • Minerals & metals (4%)
  • Forest products (3%)
  • Chemicals (3%)
  • Other (9%)

California Jobs

  • 1,166,100 California jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

California top services exports to Canada

  • Business, professional & technical services: $2.2 billion
  • Royalties: $1.7 billion
  • Financial services: $603 million
  • Telecommunications: $112 million
  • Insurance: $40 million

Highlights

  • 1,166,100 jobs in California depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Total Canada–California goods trade: $44.0 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on California’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Los Angeles.

February 2017
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2016 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2017 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2015 services trade (1/2017 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Sud de la Californie

Un avenir plus écologique

Photo : Thomas WolfEn Californie du Sud, les entreprises canadiennes travaillent fort à des projets de protection de l’environnement et de lutte contre le changement climatique. Le système à la fine pointe de la technologie de purification de l’eau UV Pure du LA Cleantech Incubator traite jusqu’à 600 gallons par jour. Le réseau multiniveau de surveillance des eaux souterraines construit par l’OCWD en utilisant la technologie Westbay permet à ce district de gérer efficacement l’alimentation de la nappe souterraine et l’extraction de l’eau potable; il permet également que la qualité soit confirmée in situ. Brookfield Renewable exploite cinq parcs éoliens et une centrale hydroélectrique. Solar Provider Group exploite des projets commerciaux d’énergie solaire alimentant des centaines de foyers dans la région. Enfin, grâce à ses subventions accordées à des organismes de bienfaisance locaux, le RBC Blue Water Project aide à ce que les Californiens aient accès à l’eau potable.

Sur les écrans, grands et petits

Des talents canadiens comme Ryan Gosling, Ellen Page, Seth Rogen Tatiana Maslany, Drake, Alessia Cara et The Weeknd occupent le devant de la scène des industries du cinéma, de la télévision et de la musique. En Californie du Sud, des Canadiens façonnent et créent la magie d’Hollywood. IMAX fournit la technologie de visionnement la plus avancée pour présenter du contenu créatif dans le monde entier. D-BOX et Moment Factory créent des expériences de réalité amplifiée pour le public, ouvrant ainsi de nouvelles dimensions physiques et émotives grâce à l’utilisation de leurs systèmes de mouvement dernier cri et de leurs environnements numériques interactifs. Le studio indépendant mondial Entertainment One élabore, produit, finance et distribue du contenu de divertissement. Les Canadiens sont également à l’avant-garde de l’innovation en TI. À San Diego, CGI Technologies and Solutions administre et transforme par la technologie plus de 300 applications logicielles pour plus de 50 ministères du gouvernement.

L’économie de l’innovation

Les entreprises canadiennes qui touchent à l’innovation sont déterminées à contribuer à l’économie dynamique de la Californie du Sud en proposant de nouvelles idées et de nouveaux produits. Le centre des sciences de la vie du comté d’Orange abrite l’entreprise canadienne Bausch & Lomb, un acteur clé en soins de pointe pour la santé oculaire. Omni-Lite Industries, qui a des activités en Californie du Sud depuis plus de 20 ans, et sa société soeur, California Nanotechnologies, continuent d’innover dans les sciences des matériaux et dans les dispositifs médicaux pour les industries de l’aérospatiale et de la défense. Solium, de Calgary, fournit des solutions logicielles pour l’administration des régimes d’actions des employés, tant à l’échelon local que mondial. Enfin, à San Diego, TriPhase Accelerator Corporation met au point des thérapies pour lutter contre le cancer; les partenariats stratégiques locaux y facilitent les avancées dans la découverte de médicaments pouvant sauver des vies.

Commerce Californie–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises enCAS vers le Canada : 16,2 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises enCAS en provenance du Canada : 27,8 milliards $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 44,0 milliards $
  • Exportations de services enCAS vers le Canada : 9,2 milliards $

Tourisme Californie–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens en CAS : 1881 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens en CAS : 1,7 milliards $

Principales exportations de marchandises en  Californie vers le Canada

  • Téléphones et équipement d’enregistrement AV : 1,8 milliards $
  • Fruits et noix : 1,6 milliards $
  • Ordinateurs : 1,5 milliards $
  • Légumes : 905 millions $
  • Instruments optiques, médicaux et de précision : 844 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises en Californie en provenance du Canada

  • Automobiles : 18,1 milliards $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 526 millions $
  • Viandes animales : 451 millions $
  • Meubles et literie : 427 millions $
  • Aliments pour animaux et résidus de l’industrie alimentaire : 410 millions $

Californie exporte 16,2 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (44 %)
  • Agriculture (25 %)
  • Transports (7 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (5 %)
  • Produits chimiques (5 %)
  • Vêtements et textiles (3 %)
  • Autres (10 %)

Californie importe 27,8 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Transports (67 %)
  • Agriculture (9 %)
  • Équipement et machines (5 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (4 %)
  • Produits forestiers (3 %)
  • Produits chimiques (3 %)
  • Autres (9 %)
1166 100 emplois en Californie dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services en  Californie vers le Canada

  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 2,2 milliards $
  • Redevances: 1,7 milliards $
  • Services financiers: 603 millions $
  • Télécommunications: 112 millions $
  • Services d’assurance: 40 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 1166 100 emplois en Californie dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Californie : 44,0 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et la Californie, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Los Angeles.

Septembre 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2014 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (8/2016, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.