Mississippi

ROXUL® Expands Operations

Metro Toronto Convention Centre, featuring ROCKFON® Koral™ productIn 2016, ROCKFON® an affiliate of ROXUL® Inc. broke ground on their first USA acoustic ceiling panel manufacturing facility in Marshall County.

The new ROCKFON facility will be adjacent to the current ROXUL USA factory. The Mississippi facility will be ROCKFON's fifth manufacturing facility in the world, extending global capacity and meeting the growing demand for ROCKFON ceiling panels in North America. The existing ROXUL site employs 130 workers and manufactures a full line of residential, commercial and industrial stone wool insulation products.

ROXUL makes high-quality insulation products to help save energy, reduce noise and prevent the spread of fire for a broad range of building and industrial uses. The new facility is projected to create 90 new jobs. ROCKFON is collaborating with state leaders to ensure that the new site meets or exceeds environmental standards.

ROCKFON is the leading supplier of stone wool acoustic solutions, a subsidiary of Denmark-based ROCKWOOL® International A/S. and affiliate of ROXUL Inc. with North American headquarters in Ontario, Canada.

On the Right Track

Canadian National Railway (CN), Canada's largest freight railroad, is a key player in the strong Mississippi-Canada relationship. CN's continent-wide transportation network supports the exchange of $3.1 billion in Canada-Mississippi goods while supplying just-in-time inventories to companies that operated on both sides of the border. CN employs more than 500 staff in Mississippi.

CN operates nearly 600 miles of track used for freight and passenger traffic in the state along with two strategic intermodal terminals in Gulfport and Jackson. In recent years, the company has made capital investments of more than $60 million to maintain and upgrade its Mississippi facilities.

CN continues to expand its U.S. rail network and intermodal operations facilitating the transport of goods from Canadian ports in Halifax, Prince Rupert and Vancouver to customers in the U.S. Southeast and Midwest regions via CN Rail's extensive Memphis, Tennessee rail operations.

Mississippi–Canada trade

  • Mississippi exports to Canada: $2.2 billion
  • Mississippi imports from Canada: $909 million
  • Bilateral trade: $3.1 billion
  • Mississippi services exports to Canada: $230 million

Mississippi–Canada tourism

  • Mississippi visits by Canadians: 66,400
  • Mississippi vacation spending by Canadians: $11 million

Mississippi’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Automobiles: $472 million
  • Trucks: $262 million
  • Furniture & bedding: $102 million
  • Optical, medical & precision instruments: $85 million
  • Computers: $83 million

Mississippi’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Engines & turbines: $65 million
  • Motor vehicle parts: $65 million
  • Pharmaceutical products: $54 million
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $45 million
  • Compressors & pumps: $36 million

Mississippi exports to Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (40%)
  • Transportation (35%)
  • Minerals & metals (4%)
  • Agriculture (4%)
  • Chemicals (4%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (3%)
  • Other (9%)

Mississippi imports from Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (33%)
  • Minerals & metals (11%)
  • Transportation (11%)
  • Chemicals (7%)
  • Energy (7%)
  • Agriculture (6%)
  • Other (25%)

Mississippi Jobs

  • 65,900 Mississippi jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

Mississippi top services exports to Canada

  • Business, professional & technical services: $29 million
  • Royalties: $14 million
  • Financial services: $4 million
  • Insurance: $3 million
  • Telecommunications: $2 million

Highlights

  • 65,900 jobs in Mississippi depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is Mississippi’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–Mississippi goods trade: $3.1 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on Mississippi’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Atlanta.

February 2017
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2016 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2017 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2015 services trade (1/2017 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Mississippi

ROXUL® accroît ses activités

Le Metro Toronto Convention Centre présente le produit ROCKFON® Koral™En 2016, ROCKFON®, une filiale de ROXUL® Inc., a commencé la construction de ses premières installations étatsuniennes de fabrication de panneaux insonorisants de plafond dans le comté de Marshall.

Les nouvelles installations de ROCKFON seront adjacentes à l’actuelle usine ROXUL USA. L’usine du Mississippi, la cinquième usine de fabrication de ROCKFON dans le monde, augmentera sa capacité mondiale et permettra de répondre à la demande croissante pour les panneaux de plafond ROCKFON en Amérique du Nord. L’usine actuelle de ROXUL emploie 130 travailleurs et fabrique une gamme complète de produits d’isolation en laine de roche pour les marchés résidentiels, commerciaux et industriels.

ROXUL fabrique des produits d’isolation de grande qualité qui aident à économiser l’énergie, à réduire le bruit et à empêcher la propagation des flammes. Ces produits s’adressent à un vaste éventail de bâtiments et d’usages industriels. Les nouvelles installations devraient créer 90 nouveaux emplois. ROCKFON collabore avec les dirigeants de l’État pour garantir que le nouvel emplacement respecte ou dépasse les normes environnementales.

Filiale de ROCKWOOL® International A/S du Danemark et affilié de ROXUL Inc., ayant son siège nord-américain en Ontario (Canada), ROCKFON est le principal fournisseur de solutions acoustiques en laine de roche.

Sur la bonne voie

Le Canadien National (CN), le plus important chemin de fer du Canada pour le fret, est un acteur clé dans la solide relation Mississippi-Canada. Le réseau de transport du CN à l’échelle du continent contribue aux échanges de marchandises d’une valeur de 3,1 milliards de dollars entre le Canada et le Mississippi, tout en fournissant un système de livraison des stocks juste-à-temps aux entreprises qui ont des activités des deux côtés de la frontière. Le CN emploie plus de 500 employés au Mississippi.

Dans l’État, le CN exploite près de 600 milles de voies ferrées qui sont utilisées pour le transport des marchandises et des passagers; il exploite aussi deux terminaux intermodaux stratégiques, l’un à Gulfport et l’autre à Jackson. Ces dernières années, la société a effectué des investissements en capitaux de plus de 60 millions de dollars pour entretenir et moderniser ses installations du Mississippi.

Le CN poursuit l’expansion de son réseau ferroviaire et de ses activités intermodales aux É.-U., ce qui facilite le transport de marchandises entre les ports canadiens d’Halifax, de Prince-Rupert et de Vancouver et les clients des régions du Sud-Est et du Midwest des É.-U. en utilisant les vastes opérations de CN Rail à Memphis, Tennessee.

Commerce Mississippi–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises du MS vers le Canada : 2,2 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises du MS en provenance du Canada : 909 millions $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 3,1 milliards $
  • Exportations de services du MS vers le Canada : 230 millions $

Tourisme Mississippi–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens au MS : 66 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens au MS : 11 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises au  Mississippi vers le Canada

  • Automobiles : 472 millions $
  • Camions : 262 millions $
  • Meubles et literie : 102 millions $
  • Instruments optiques, médicaux et de précision : 85 millions $
  • Ordinateurs : 83 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises du  Mississippi en provenance du Canada

  • Moteurs et turbines : 65 millions $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 65 millions $
  • Produits pharmaceutiques : 54 millions $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 45 millions $
  • Compresseurs et pompes : 36 millions $

Mississippi exporte 2,2 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (40 %)
  • Transports (35 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (4 %)
  • Agriculture (4 %)
  • Produits chimiques (4 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (3 %)
  • Autres (9 %)

Mississippi importe 909 millions $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (33 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (11 %)
  • Transports (11 %)
  • Produits chimiques (7 %)
  • Énergie (7 %)
  • Agriculture (6 %)
  • Autres (25 %)
65 900 emplois au Mississippi dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services au  Mississippi vers le Canada

  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 29 millions $
  • Redevances: 14 millions $
  • Services financiers: 4 millions $
  • Services d’assurance: 3 millions $
  • Télécommunications: 2 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 65 900 emplois au Mississippi dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client au Mississippi
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Mississippi : 3,1 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et le Mississippi, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Atlanta.

Septembre 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2014 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (8/2016, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.