North Carolina

Re-Energizing the Textile Industry

In 2011, Canada’s Richelieu Group— now named PEDS Legwear— invested $7 million in Burke County’s International Legwear, a sock manufacturing company. That initial investment saved 45 jobs. The Canadian company has since upgraded its sewing machines, and found new buyers for its products. PEDS plans to invest $16 million and create more than 200 jobs at the facility as it ramps up production and finds new customers for this made-in-North Carolina brand.

PEDS’ efforts received special recognition when its CEO Michael Penner was among three executives invited to participate in a White House Roundtable on business development, an event showcasing the success of foreign investment to senior business and government leaders. At the event, President Obama remarked “It’s not just big corporations or billion-dollar investments that make a difference.”

Taking Flight in North Carolina

Canada is a world leader in drone technology, and thanks to the North Carolina presence of Canadian start-up PrecisionHawk, that innovation continues. PrecisionHawk develops drones for agricultural data collection. It also holds exclusive licenses and research and development exemptions from the FAA.

PrecisionHawk’s strategic move to North Carolina has positioned the company to leverage the state’s vast farmlands for testing drones and connecting with the state’s agricultural industry leaders. Given the $556 million in bilateral agricultural trade between Canada and North Carolina, the company is well-positioned to become an important industry ally.

North Carolina–Canada trade

  • North Carolina exports to Canada: $6.8 billion
  • North Carolina imports from Canada: $3.5 billion
  • Bilateral trade: $10.3 billion
  • North Carolina services exports to Canada: $1.4 billion

North Carolina–Canada tourism

  • North Carolina visits by Canadians: 723,100
  • North Carolina vacation spending by Canadians: $153 million

North Carolina’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Tractors: $568 million
  • Medicine, in dosage: $379 million
  • Optical, medical & precision instruments: $331 million
  • Motor vehicle parts: $318 million
  • Engines & turbines: $289 million

North Carolina’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Plastics & plastic articles: $394 million
  • Softwood lumber: $251 million
  • Paper & paperboard: $192 million
  • Aircraft: $192 million
  • Medicine, in dosage: $126 million

North Carolina exports to Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (35%)
  • Transportation (20%)
  • Chemicals (12%)
  • Minerals & metals (6%)
  • Apparel & textiles (6%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (5%)
  • Other (15%)

North Carolina imports from Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (18%)
  • Forest products (15%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (13%)
  • Chemicals (11%)
  • Transportation (9%)
  • Agriculture (7%)
  • Other (26%)

North Carolina Jobs

  • 247,500 North Carolina jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

North Carolina top services exports to Canada

  • Travel: $485 million
  • Transportation services: $248 million
  • Royalties & license fees: $233 million
  • Financial services: $221 million
  • Business, professional & technical services: $147 million

Highlights

  • 247,500 jobs in North Carolina depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is North Carolina’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–North Carolina goods trade: $10.3 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on North Carolina’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Atlanta.

April 2016
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2015 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2013 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (5/2015 release, US$1.00=C$1.0299). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2016 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2014 services trade (11/2015 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Caroline du Nord

Revitaliser l’industrie textile

En 2011, le Richelieu Group du Canada – qui porte maintenant le nom de PEDS Legwear – a investi 7 dans International Legwear du comté de Burke, une entreprise de fabrication de chaussettes. Cet investissement initial a sauvé 45 emplois. Depuis lors, l’entreprise canadienne a modernisé ses machines à coudre, et elle a trouvé de nouveaux acheteurs pour ses produits. PEDS compte investir 16 et créer plus de 200 emplois dans ces installations, puisqu’elle y accroît la production et trouve de nouveaux clients pour cette marque typique de la Caroline du Nord.

Les efforts de PEDS ont reçu une reconnaissance toute particulière quand son PDG Michael Penner a figuré parmi les trois cadres qui ont été invités à la Maison-Blanche pour participer à une table ronde sur le développement des affaires, un événement présentant le succès de l’investissement étranger aux hauts dirigeants d’entreprises et du gouvernement. Lors de cet événement, le président Obama a fait la remarque suivante : « Il n’y a pas que les grandes entreprises ou les investissements de milliards de dollars qui modifient le cours des événements. »

Prendre son envol en Caroline du Nord

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial dans la technologie des drones, et grâce à la présence en Caroline du Nord de l’entreprise canadienne en démarrage PrecisionHawk, l’innovation se poursuit. PrecisionHawk met au point des drones pour la collecte de données en agriculture. L’entreprise détient également des licences exclusives et profite d’abattements de la FAA pour la recherche et le développement.

La décision stratégique de PrecisionHawk de s’installer en Caroline du Nord l’a placée en position de pouvoir tirer parti des vastes terres agricoles de l’État pour effectuer les tests sur ses drones; cette décision lui a aussi permis d’établir des contacts avec les chefs de file de l’industrie agricole de l’État. Compte tenu des 556 M$ d’échanges commerciaux bilatéraux en agriculture entre le Canada et la Caroline du Nord, l’entreprise est bien placée pour devenir un allié important de l’industrie.

Commerce Caroline du Nord–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises en NC vers le Canada : 6,8 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises en NC en provenance du Canada : 3,5 milliards $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 10,3 milliards $
  • Exportations de services en NC vers le Canada : 1,4 milliards $

Tourisme Caroline du Nord–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens en NC : 721 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens en NC : 171 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises en  Caroline du Nord vers le Canada

  • Tractors : 568 millions $
  • Médicaments, en posologie : 379 millions $
  • Instruments optiques, médicaux et de précision : 331 millions $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 318 millions $
  • Moteurs et turbines : 289 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises en  Caroline du Nord en provenance du Canada

  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 394 millions $
  • Bois d’oeuvre résineux : 251 millions $
  • Papier et carton : 192 millions $
  • Aéronefs : 192 millions $
  • Médicaments, en posologie : 126 millions $

Caroline du Nord exporte 6,8 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (35 %)
  • Transports (20 %)
  • Produits chimiques (12 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (6 %)
  • Vêtements et textiles (6 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (5 %)
  • Autres (15 %)

Caroline du Nord importe 3,5 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (18 %)
  • Produits forestiers (15 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (13 %)
  • Produits chimiques (11 %)
  • Transports (9 %)
  • Agriculture (7 %)
  • Autres (26 %)
247 500 emplois en Caroline du Nord dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services en  Caroline du Nord vers le Canada

  • Voyage: 485 millions $
  • Services de transport: 248 millions $
  • Redevances et droits de licences: 233 millions $
  • Services financiers: 221 millions $
  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 147 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 247 500 emplois en Caroline du Nord dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client en Caroline du Nord
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Caroline du Nord : 10,3 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et la Caroline du Nord, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Atlanta.

Septembre 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2014 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (8/2016, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.