New York

Canadian-Made Fireboat Joins FDNY

Among the many events in New York City commemorating 9/11 in 2015, the FDNY’s christening of the fireboat William M. Feehan was particularly moving. The state-of-the-art boat was built by Kingston, Ontario’s MetalCraft Marine Inc., which has extensive operations in Clayton, New York, and is expanding into Cape Vincent, New York. The nameplate is made from steel recovered from Ground Zero. MetalCraft Marine worked closely with the FDNY’s marine division in designing the boat. “They’re probably the single greatest group of guys we’ve ever worked with,” said Bob Clark, MetalCraft’s contracts manager.

Hebeler: a 21st Century binational Success

Buffalo-based Hebeler Corporation specializes in the engineering, design, manufacture, and supply of custom pre-fabricated systems for the energy sector. Hebeler and its subsidiary, J. Oskam in nearby Pt. Colborne, Ontario, operate in tandem and have a thriving cross border supply chain. The Canadian location has provided the company with talented, skilled employees and manufacturing excellence. From engineers to welders and electricians, Oskam’s 140 skilled workers join its parent corporation bringing up-to-date technological skills to the fabrication marketplace.

Creating Jobs in Upstate NY

Quebec’s Plastitel Products is the first tenant in Clinton County’s former, and long vacant, Pfizer facility. The space has been upgraded with renovations and new machinery, making it into a plastics thermoforming manufacturing operation, which employs 24. Wanting a U.S. footprint to supply the transportation and medical industries, Plastitel found New York State a helpful partner. According to the North Country Chamber of Commerce, the company is “an excellent new member of its industrial community.” Moreover, Plastitel will spur other companies to the site.

New York–Canada trade

  • New York exports to Canada: $12.4 billion
  • New York imports from Canada: $18.0 billion
  • Bilateral trade: $30.4 billion
  • New York services exports to Canada: $6.9 billion

New York–Canada tourism

  • New York visits by Canadians: 5,533,700
  • New York vacation spending by Canadians: $1.6 billion

New York’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Aluminum & aluminum articles: $663 million
  • Paper & paperboard: $558 million
  • Natural gas & other gases: $436 million
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $380 million
  • Motor vehicle parts: $322 million

New York’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Natural gas & other gases: $1.8 billion
  • Precious metals: $1.7 billion
  • Aluminum & aluminum articles: $1.3 billion
  • Fuel oil: $802 million
  • Paper & paperboard: $723 million

New York exports to Canada by industry

  • Minerals & metals (19%)
  • Equipment & machinery (18%)
  • Agriculture (8%)
  • Forest products (7%)
  • Chemicals (6%)
  • Transportation (5%)
  • Other (38%)

New York imports from Canada by industry

  • Minerals & metals (34%)
  • Energy (20%)
  • Agriculture (9%)
  • Equipment & machinery (9%)
  • Forest products (8%)
  • Chemicals (4%)
  • Other (16%)

New York Jobs

  • 680,900 New York jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

New York top services exports to Canada

  • Travel: $2.0 billion
  • Financial services: $2.0 billion
  • Business, professional & technical services: $1.1 billion
  • Royalties & license fees: $763 million
  • Telecom, computer & information services: $363 million

Highlights

  • 680,900 jobs in New York depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is New York’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–New York goods trade: $30.4 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on New York’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in New York.

September 2016
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2015 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2016 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2014 services trade (11/2015 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

New York

Le FDNY acquiert un bateau-pompe fabriqué au Canada

Parmi les nombreux événements qui se sont tenus à New York en 2015 pour commémorer le 9/11, le baptême du bateau-pompe William M. Feehan du FDNY a été particulièrement émouvant. Ce bateau à la fine pointe de la technologie a été construit par MetalCraft Marine Inc. de Kingston (Ontario), qui a des opérations d’envergure à Clayton (New York), et qui prend de l’expansion à Cape Vincent (New York). La plaque du constructeur est en acier récupéré de Ground Zero. MetalCraft Marine a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la division marine du FDNY pour la conception du bateau. « Ils sont probablement le groupe le plus unique de personnes avec qui nous ayons jamais travaillé », a déclaré Bob Clark, gestionnaire de contrats chez MetalCraft.

Hebeler : un succès binational du XXIe siècle

Hebeler Corporation, de Buffalo, est spécialisée dans l’ingénierie, la conception, la fabrication et la fourniture de systèmes préfabriqués sur mesure pour le secteur de l’énergie. Hebeler et sa filiale, J. Oskam, qui se trouve à proximité à Pt. Colborne (Ontario), fonctionnent en tandem et ont une chaîne transfrontalière d’approvisionnement qui est en plein essor. Le site canadien a fourni à l’entreprise des employés qualifiés et talentueux de même que l’excellence en fabrication. Des ingénieurs jusqu’aux soudeurs et aux électriciens, 140 travailleurs qualifiés d’Oskam se joignent à la société mère de la compagnie, apportant des compétences technologiques de pointe en fabrication.

Créer des emplois dans le nord-ouest de l’État de New York

Produits Plastitel du Québec est le premier locataire des anciennes installations de Pfizer, longtemps restées vacantes dans le comté de Clinton. L’espace a été modernisé par des rénovations et de nouvelles machines, pour devenir une installation de fabrication par thermoformage de produits plastiques; il emploie 24 personnes. Voulant s’implanter aux É.-U. pour fournir l’industrie des soins de santé et celle des transports, Plastitel a trouvé un partenaire efficace dans l’État de New York. Selon la North Country Chamber of Commerce, la compagnie est « un excellent nouveau membre de sa communauté industrielle ». De plus, Plastitel incitera d’autres entreprises à s’installer sur le site.

Commerce New York–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises de NY vers le Canada : 12,4 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises de NY en provenance du Canada : 18,0 milliards $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 30,4 milliards $
  • Exportations de services de NY vers le Canada : 6,9 milliards $

Tourisme New York–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens dans l’etat de NY : 5979 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens dans l’etat de NY : 798 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises dans l’etat de  New York vers le Canada

  • Aluminium et articles en aluminium : 663 millions $
  • Papier et carton : 558 millions $
  • Gaz naturel et autres gaz : 436 millions $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 380 millions $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 322 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises de  New York en provenance du Canada

  • Gaz naturel et autres gaz : 1,8 milliards $
  • Métaux précieux : 1,7 milliards $
  • Aluminium et articles en aluminium : 1,3 milliards $
  • Mazout : 802 millions $
  • Papier et carton : 723 millions $

New York exporte 12,4 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Minerals et métaux (19 %)
  • Équipement et machines (18 %)
  • Agriculture (8 %)
  • Produits forestiers (7 %)
  • Produits chimiques (6 %)
  • Transports (5 %)
  • Autres (38 %)

New York importe 18,0 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Minerals et métaux (34 %)
  • Énergie (20 %)
  • Agriculture (9 %)
  • Équipement et machines (9 %)
  • Produits forestiers (8 %)
  • Produits chimiques (4 %)
  • Autres (16 %)
680 900 emplois dans l’etat de New York dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services dans l’etat de  New York vers le Canada

  • Voyage: 2,0 milliards $
  • Services financiers: 2,0 milliards $
  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 1,1 milliards $
  • Redevances et droits de licences: 763 millions $
  • Services de télécom, d’informatique et d’information: 363 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 680 900 emplois dans l’etat de New York dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client dans l’etat de New York
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et New York : 30,4 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et le New York, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à New York.

Avril 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2013 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (5/2015, US$1.00=C$1.0299). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.