Rhode Island

An Energizing Partner

Burrillville-based Ocean State Power is owned and operated by TransCanada and is the second largest power plant in the state. Ocean State Power is the first power plant built in New England to use Canadian natural gas exclusively, generating more electricity and reducing waste. At full capacity, the plant uses 100 million cubic feet of natural gas daily.

Ocean State Power supports approximately 90 Rhode Island jobs and is a major purchaser of local goods and services; spending close to $10 million annually on maintenance and operations. The Company contributes to the Burrillville community through its TransCanada Community Investment Program, which directs supports to a number of local programs and charities.

Textron Equips Canadian Forces

Providence-headquartered Textron Systems supplies the Canadian Forces Tactical Armoured Patrol Vehicle (TAPV) program. The company is providing overall program management, acting as the design authority, coordinating a team of companies for vehicle assembly and integration, providing direct product support, managing the in-service support contract, as well as executing an Industrial Regional Benefits program. The contract is valued at over $600 million.

In August 2016, Textron Systems delivered the first TAPVs to the Canadian Army, and plans to deliver at least 30 vehicles per month with all 500 vehicles scheduled to be delivered by December 2017. The fleet will be distributed across seven bases. The Canadian Army expects to declare full operational capability by mid-2020.

First New England Cement Plant in Over 50 Years

In August 2016, McInnis Cement broke ground on their first U.S. terminal at the Port of Providence. McInnis will deliver payloads of over 30,000 metric tons to the terminal from the company's plant in Port-Daniel–Gascons, Canada. McInnis is the first cement company to build a new plant to serve New England in more than 50 years.

When the Providence terminal becomes operational, McInnis will hire up to 10 employees, including stevedores, as well as marine and trucking-related jobs. About 30 to 40 construction-related jobs will be available while the ship-receiving facilities are being constructed.

Rhode Island–Canada trade

  • Rhode Island exports to Canada: $527 million
  • Rhode Island imports from Canada: $405 million
  • Bilateral trade: $932 million
  • Rhode Island services exports to Canada: $152 million

Rhode Island–Canada tourism

  • Rhode Island visits by Canadians: 99,500
  • Rhode Island vacation spending by Canadians: $23 million

Rhode Island’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Plastics & plastic articles: $42 million
  • Optical, medical & precision instruments: $28 million
  • Toys, games, sporting & recreation equipment: $19 million
  • Inorganic chemicals: $10 million
  • Furniture & bedding: $10 million

Rhode Island’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Fuel oil: $61 million
  • Organic chemicals: $31 million
  • Paper & paperboard: $24 million
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $22 million
  • Wood & semi-finished wood products: $17 million

Rhode Island exports to Canada by industry

  • Minerals & metals (54%)
  • Equipment & machinery (19%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (9%)
  • Chemicals (5%)
  • Agriculture (2%)
  • Transportation (2%)
  • Other (9%)

Rhode Island imports from Canada by industry

  • Minerals & metals (21%)
  • Energy (15%)
  • Agriculture (13%)
  • Forest products (12%)
  • Chemicals (12%)
  • Equipment & machinery (7%)
  • Other (20%)

Rhode Island Jobs

  • 27,600 Rhode Island jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

Rhode Island top services exports to Canada

  • Business, professional & technical services: $20 million
  • Financial services: $14 million
  • Royalties: $13 million
  • Insurance: $12 million
  • Telecommunications: $4 million

Highlights

  • 27,600 jobs in Rhode Island depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is Rhode Island’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–Rhode Island goods trade: $932 million

Connect to our team

For more information on Rhode Island’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Boston.

February 2017
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2016 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2017 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2015 services trade (1/2017 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Rhode Island

Un partenaire énergisant

Ocean State Power de Burrillville, la deuxième plus importante centrale électrique de l’État, est la propriété de TransCanada qui en est aussi l’exploitant. Ocean State Power est la première centrale électrique à avoir été construite en Nouvelle-Angleterre pour utiliser exclusivement le gaz naturel canadien et qui génère plus d’électricité et moins de déchets. À plein rendement, la centrale utilise 100 millions de pieds cubes de gaz naturel par jour.

Ocean State Power emploie environ 90 personnes dans le Rhode Island et est un important acheteur de biens et services locaux, puisque l’entreprise dépense près de 10 millions de dollars par année pour l’entretien et l’exploitation. La compagnie contribue à la collectivité de Burrillville grâce à son TransCanada Community Investment Program qui appuie directement un certain nombre de programmes et organismes caritatifs locaux.

Textron équipe les Forces canadiennes

Textron Systems, dont le siège social est situé à Providence, est le fournisseur du programme Véhicule blindé tactique de patrouille (VBTP) des Forces canadiennes. L’entreprise assure la gestion globale du programme en remplissant les fonctions suivantes : agir comme responsable de la conception; coordonner une équipe d’entreprises pour le montage et l’intégration des véhicules; fournir un soutien technique direct; administrer le contrat de soutien en service; et, exécuter le programme Retombées industrielles régionales. Le contrat est évalué à plus de 600 millions de dollars.

En août 2016, Textron Systems a livré les premiers VBTP à l’Armée canadienne; elle planifie en livrer au moins 30 par mois, et le total des 500 véhicules doit l’être d’ici décembre 2017. Le parc de véhicules sera réparti dans sept bases. L’Armée canadienne s’attend à atteindre une pleine capacité opérationnelle d’ici la mi-2020.

Première cimenterie de la Nouvelle-Angleterre depuis plus de 50 ans

En août 2016, McInnis Cement a commencé la construction de son terminal au port de Providence, son premier aux É.-U. De la cimenterie de Port-Daniel-Gascons, au Canada, McInnis va livrer à ce terminal des charges utiles de plus de 30 000 tonnes métriques. En plus de 50 ans, McInnis est la première entreprise spécialisée dans le ciment à construire une nouvelle cimenterie pour approvisionner la Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Lorsque le terminal de Providence sera opérationnel, McInnis embauchera jusqu’à dix employés, y compris des manutentionnaires, ainsi que des travailleurs du secteur maritime et de celui du camionnage. Environ 30 à 40 emplois liés à la construction seront offerts pendant la construction des installations de réception des navires.

Commerce Rhode Island–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises du RI vers le Canada : 527 millions $
  • Importations de marchandises du RI en provenance du Canada : 405 millions $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 932 millions $
  • Exportations de services du RI vers le Canada : 152 millions $

Tourisme Rhode Island–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens au RI : 100 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens au RI : 23 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises au  Rhode Island vers le Canada

  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 42 millions $
  • Instruments optiques, médicaux et de précision : 28 millions $
  • Jouets, jeux et matériel sportif et récréatif : 19 millions $
  • Produits chimiques inorganiques : 10 millions $
  • Meubles et literie : 10 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises du  Rhode Island en provenance du Canada

  • Mazout : 61 millions $
  • Produits chimiques organiques : 31 millions $
  • Papier et carton : 24 millions $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 22 millions $
  • Bois et produits du bois semi-finis : 17 millions $

Rhode Island exporte 527 millions $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Minerals et métaux (54 %)
  • Équipement et machines (19 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (9 %)
  • Produits chimiques (5 %)
  • Agriculture (2 %)
  • Transports (2 %)
  • Autres (9 %)

Rhode Island importe 405 millions $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Minerals et métaux (21 %)
  • Énergie (15 %)
  • Agriculture (13 %)
  • Produits forestiers (12 %)
  • Produits chimiques (12 %)
  • Équipement et machines (7 %)
  • Autres (20 %)
27 600 emplois au Rhode Island dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services au  Rhode Island vers le Canada

  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 20 millions $
  • Services financiers: 14 millions $
  • Redevances: 13 millions $
  • Services d’assurance: 12 millions $
  • Télécommunications: 4 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 27 600 emplois au Rhode Island dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client au Rhode Island
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Rhode Island : 932 millions $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et le Rhode Island, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Boston.

Septembre 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2014 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (8/2016, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.