Strategic Investment Positions Resolute Forest Products’ Tennessee Operation

Resolute Forest Products is a global leader in the forest products industry with a diverse range of products, including market pulp, wood products, tissue, newsprint and specialty papers. Its products are marketed in close to 80 countries. The company owns or operates more than 40 pulp, paper, wood products and tissue facilities in the United States, Canada and South Korea, and power generation assets in Canada.

From its Canadian roots, Resolute has found a home in Eastern Tennessee. Established in 1954, its Calhoun operation began as one the earliest newsprint mills in the southern United States. Today, the mill employs more than 500 people and produces market pulp and specialty papers for use in business publications, advertising circulars and magazines.

The company recently entered the tissue market with the construction of a $270 million state-of-the-art facility in Calhoun to manufacture retail, premium private-label tissue products. The facility will be operational in the first quarter of 2017.

Resolute has received regional, North American and global recognition for its leadership in corporate social responsibility and sustainable development, as well as for its business practices. Visit resolutefp.com for more information.

CN Rail System Key Driver in Bilateral Trade

More than a quarter of Tennessee’s world-wide exports cross the Canadian border; and transportation— by rail and water— continues to drive a significant portion of bilateral trade.

Canadian ports in Halifax, Prince Rupert and Vancouver connect to CN Railway’s extensive Memphis rail operations. From this logistics center, goods are transported to customers in the Southeast and Midwest U.S. regions. Memphis is a major freight distribution hub and a key operating center on CN’s North American network. It is an important destination for freight traffic on the CN system and a gateway to CN’s rail operations in the Southeastern and Gulf Coast regions. Its Memphis yard is CN’s second largest classification yard in the U.S.

Tennessee–Canada trade

  • Tennessee exports to Canada: $8.6 billion
  • Tennessee imports from Canada: $5.8 billion
  • Bilateral trade: $14.4 billion
  • Tennessee services exports to Canada: $920 million

Tennessee–Canada tourism

  • Tennessee visits by Canadians: 464,500
  • Tennessee vacation spending by Canadians: $98 million

Tennessee’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Automobiles: $1.3 billion
  • Computers: $1.0 billion
  • Motor vehicle parts: $780 million
  • Engines & turbines: $777 million
  • Optical, medical & precision instruments: $315 million

Tennessee’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Aluminum & aluminum articles: $1.2 billion
  • Medicine, in dosage: $853 million
  • Motor vehicle parts: $350 million
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $326 million
  • Optical, medical & precision instruments: $160 million

Tennessee exports to Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (47%)
  • Transportation (27%)
  • Minerals & metals (5%)
  • Chemicals (5%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (5%)
  • Agriculture (3%)
  • Other (8%)

Tennessee imports from Canada by industry

  • Minerals & metals (26%)
  • Chemicals (21%)
  • Equipment & machinery (15%)
  • Transportation (8%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (7%)
  • Agriculture (7%)
  • Other (16%)

Tennessee Jobs

  • 170,300 Tennessee jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

Tennessee top services exports to Canada

  • Travel: $445 million
  • Transportation services: $131 million
  • Business, professional & technical services: $120 million
  • Royalties & license fees: $96 million
  • Equipment installation, maintenance & repair: $50 million


  • 170,300 jobs in Tennessee depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is Tennessee’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–Tennessee goods trade: $14.4 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on Tennessee’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Atlanta.

September 2016
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2015 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2016 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2014 services trade (11/2015 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Tennessee

Un investissement stratégique place les activités de Resolute Forest Products en position favorable au Tennessee

Resolute Forest Products est un chef de file mondial dans l’industrie des produits forestiers grâce à sa gamme variée de produits, dont pâte marchande, les produits en bois, le papier-mouchoir, le papier journal et le papier pour usages spéciaux. Ses produits sont commercialisés dans près de 80 pays. La compagnie possède ou exploite plus de 40 usines de pâte, de papier, de produits du bois et de papiers-mouchoirs aux États-Unis, au Canada et en Corée du Sud, ainsi que des actifs de production d’électricité au Canada.

C’est à partir de ses racines canadiennes que Resolute s’est établie dans le Tennessee de l’Est. Fondées en 1954, ses installations de Calhoun étaient à leurs débuts l’une des premières usines de papier journal du Sud des États-Unis. Aujourd’hui, l’usine emploie plus de 500 personnes et produit de la pâte marchande ainsi que des papiers pour usages spéciaux qui seront utilisés pour les périodiques professionnels, les cahiers publicitaires et les magazines.

L’entreprise a récemment fait son entrée dans le marché des papiers-mouchoirs avec la construction, à Calhoun, d’une installation ultramoderne d’une valeur de 270 M$. Elle y fabriquera des papiers-mouchoirs de qualité supérieure et de marque de distributeur pour la vente au détail. Les installations seront opérationnelles au cours du premier trimestre de 2017.

Resolute a obtenu une reconnaissance régionale, nord-américaine et mondiale pour son leadership en matière de responsabilité sociale d’entreprise et de développement durable, ainsi que pour ses pratiques commerciales. Visitez resolutefp.com pour plus d’informations.

Le réseau CN Rail, un moteur essentiel du commerce bilatéral

Plus du quart du total des exportations du Tennessee traversent la frontière canadienne; de plus, le transport _ par train et par bateau _ continue d’être un maillon important d’une bonne partie du commerce bilatéral.

Les ports canadiens d’Halifax, de Prince-Rupert et de Vancouver sont reliés aux vastes opérations ferroviaires de CN Railway à Memphis. À partir de ce centre logistique, les marchandises sont transportées vers des clients dans les régions du Sud-Est et du Midwest des É.-U. Memphis est un important carrefour de distribution de marchandises et un centre clé d’exploitation du réseau nord-américain du CN. C’est une destination importante pour le trafic de marchandises sur le réseau du CN, de même qu’une porte d’entrée vers les régions du Sud-Est et de la côte du golfe du Mexique pour les activités ferroviaires du CN. Sa gare de triage de Memphis est la deuxième plus importante du CN aux É.-U.

Commerce Tennessee–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises du TN vers le Canada : 8,6 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises du TN en provenance du Canada : 5,8 milliards $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 14,4 milliards $
  • Exportations de services du TN vers le Canada : 920 millions $

Tourisme Tennessee–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens dans le TN : 465 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens dans le TN : 98 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises dans le  Tennessee vers le Canada

  • Automobiles : 1,3 milliards $
  • Ordinateurs : 1,0 milliards $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 780 millions $
  • Moteurs et turbines : 777 millions $
  • Instruments optiques, médicaux et de précision : 315 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises du  Tennessee en provenance du Canada

  • Aluminium et articles en aluminium : 1,2 milliards $
  • Médicaments, en posologie : 853 millions $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 350 millions $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 326 millions $
  • Instruments optiques, médicaux et de précision : 160 millions $

Tennessee exporte 8,6 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (47 %)
  • Transports (27 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (5 %)
  • Produits chimiques (5 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (5 %)
  • Agriculture (3 %)
  • Autres (8 %)

Tennessee importe 5,8 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Minerals et métaux (26 %)
  • Produits chimiques (21 %)
  • Équipement et machines (15 %)
  • Transports (8 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (7 %)
  • Agriculture (7 %)
  • Autres (16 %)
170 300 emplois au Tennessee dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services dans le  Tennessee vers le Canada

  • Voyage: 445 millions $
  • Services de transport: 131 millions $
  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 120 millions $
  • Redevances et droits de licences: 96 millions $
  • Installation, entretien et réparation d’équipement: 50 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 170 300 emplois au Tennessee dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client dans le Tennessee
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Tennessee : 14,4 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et le Tennessee, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Atlanta.

Septembre 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2014 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (8/2016, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.