Expanding Coastal Trade Opportunities

Vancouver’s Canada Metal (Pacific) Ltd. opened its first U.S. distribution facility in Virginia Beach in 2014. The company is the world’s largest producer of diecast marine anodes and supplies non-ferrous metal products, engineered and machine die castings, and subassemblies for the marine, hydraulics, telecommunications, and electronics industries. In November 2015, the company expanded to its second Virginia location— a 39,000 square foot manufacturing and distribution facility — in nearby Suffolk. As part of the company’s multi-year expansion plan, Canada Metal (Pacific) Ltd. expects to employ 70 Virginians by 2019.

Bringing Communities to Life

Stantec, one of Canada’s largest professional services firms, employs 185 Virginians across eight established offices in Virginia. A key player in transportation infrastructure projects throughout the Commonwealth, Stantec supported the creation of the APM Marine Terminal in Portsmouth and the construction and operation of HOV and HOT lanes on I-495 in Fairfax County. The company is equally known for its education infrastructure projects, designing Lavery Hall, a sustainability-built dining and learning facility at Virginia Tech, and Lacy Hall, the centerpiece of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at the University of Virginia. Stantec has also worked closely with Dominion Virginia Power on engineering and environmental projects since 1994.

Virginia–Canada trade

  • Virginia exports to Canada: $3.4 billion
  • Virginia imports from Canada: $1.8 billion
  • Bilateral trade: $5.2 billion
  • Virginia services exports to Canada: $98 million

Virginia–Canada tourism

  • Virginia visits by Canadians: 838,600
  • Virginia vacation spending by Canadians: $219 million

Virginia’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Tractors: $506 million
  • Fuel oil: $348 million
  • Paper & printing machinery: $232 million
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $213 million
  • Motor vehicle parts: $160 million

Virginia’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Paper & paperboard: $196 million
  • Plastics & plastic articles: $129 million
  • Furniture & bedding: $70 million
  • Wood & semi-finished wood products: $63 million
  • Organic chemicals: $49 million

Virginia exports to Canada by industry

  • Transportation (24%)
  • Equipment & machinery (22%)
  • Energy (11%)
  • Minerals & metals (8%)
  • Forest products (8%)
  • Agriculture (8%)
  • Other (19%)

Virginia imports from Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (20%)
  • Forest products (19%)
  • Agriculture (13%)
  • Minerals & metals (10%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (9%)
  • Chemicals (7%)
  • Other (21%)

Virginia Jobs

  • 280,800 Virginia jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

Virginia top services exports to Canada

  • Travel: $56 million
  • Business, professional & technical services: $14 million
  • Royalties & license fees: $8 million
  • Insurance services: $7 million
  • Telecom, computer & information services: $4 million


  • 280,800 jobs in Virginia depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is Virginia’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–Virginia goods trade: $5.2 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on Virginia’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Washington.

September 2016
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2015 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2016 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2014 services trade (11/2015 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Virginie

Accroître les débouchés commerciaux côtiers

En 2014, Canada Metal (Pacific) Ltd de Vancouver a ouvert, à Virginia Beach, son premier centre de distribution aux É.-U. La compagnie est le plus gros producteur mondial d’anodes marines moulées sous pression, et elle fournit des produits métalliques non-ferreux, des pièces mises au point et moulées sous pression mécaniquement, ainsi que des sous-ensembles pour les industries de la marine, de l’hydraulique, des télécommunications et de l’électronique. En novembre 2015, la société a pris de l’expansion avec son deuxième emplacement en Virginie – des installations de fabrication et de distribution de 39 000 pi2 _ dans les environs de Suffolk. Dans le cadre du plan pluriannuel d’expansion de l’entreprise, Canada Metal (Pacific) Ltd. planifie d’avoir 70 Virginiens en emploi en 2019.

Animer des collectivités

Stantec, l’une des plus grandes sociétés de services professionnels au Canada, emploie 185 Virginiens dans huit bureaux établis en Virginie. Acteur clé pour les ouvrages d’infrastructures de transport dans l’ensemble du Commonwealth, Stantec a apporté son soutien à la création de l’APM Marine Terminal à Portsmouth, ainsi qu’à la construction et à l’exploitation des voies VMO (véhicules multioccupants) et des voies à accès spécial tarifé pour les VMO sur l’I-495 dans le comté de Fairfax. L’entreprise est également connue pour ses projets d’infrastructures en éducation, puisqu’elle a effectué la conception du Lavery Hall de Virginia Tech, des installations pour la restauration et l’apprentissage qui ont été construites selon les principes du développement durable, de même que celles du Lacy Hall, la pièce maîtresse de la School of Engineering and Applied Sciences de l’University of Virginia. Depuis 1994, Stantec travaille également en étroite collaboration avec Dominion Virginia Power à des projets environnementaux et d’ingénierie.

Commerce Virginie–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises en VA vers le Canada : 3,4 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises en VA en provenance du Canada : 1,8 milliards $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 5,2 milliards $
  • Exportations de services en VA vers le Canada : 98 millions $

Tourisme Virginie–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens en VA : 839 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens en VA : 219 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises en  Virginie vers le Canada

  • Tractors : 506 millions $
  • Mazout : 348 millions $
  • Papier et machinerie à imprimer : 232 millions $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 213 millions $
  • Pièces de moteurs automobiles : 160 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises en  Virginie en provenance du Canada

  • Papier et carton : 196 millions $
  • Plastiques et articles de plastique : 129 millions $
  • Meubles et literie : 70 millions $
  • Bois et produits du bois semi-finis : 63 millions $
  • Produits chimiques organiques : 49 millions $

Virginie exporte 3,4 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Transports (24 %)
  • Équipement et machines (22 %)
  • Énergie (11 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (8 %)
  • Produits forestiers (8 %)
  • Agriculture (8 %)
  • Autres (19 %)

Virginie importe 1,8 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (20 %)
  • Produits forestiers (19 %)
  • Agriculture (13 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (10 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (9 %)
  • Produits chimiques (7 %)
  • Autres (21 %)
280 800 emplois en Virginie dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services en  Virginie vers le Canada

  • Voyage: 56 millions $
  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 14 millions $
  • Redevances et droits de licences: 8 millions $
  • Services d’assurance: 7 millions $
  • Services de télécom, d’informatique et d’information: 4 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 280 800 emplois en Virginie dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client en Virginie
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Virginie : 5,2 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et la Virginie, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Washington.

Septembre 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2014 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (8/2016, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.