A global manufacturing hub in Vermont

Injection molding machineOntario-based Husky Injection Molding Systems is the world’s largest brand name supplier of injection molding equipment and services to the plastics industry, with customers in more than 100 countries. The Canadian company, one of Vermont’s larger employers has approximately 350 employees at its Milton facility. Husky produces a wide range of plastic products, including beverage bottles and caps, food containers, and medical components. Husky’s 700-acre campus in Milton, opened in 1998, is one of the company’s global manufacturing hubs and a knowledge center for hot runners and hot runner temperature controllers.

Québec firm bolsters Northeast Kingdom

Canada-based bicycle apparel company Louis Garneau invested $8 million to expand its operations in Derby. The company, which opened its U.S. headquarters in Newport, VT in 1989, employs over 90 people in Vermont. This development is particularly welcome news in the Northeast Kingdom.

Electric charging corridor connects Vermont and Québec

Since 2013, Vermont and Québec have partnered on the establishment of an electric vehicle charging corridor to link Burlington and Montréal. The corridor, the result of an agreement between Drive Electric Vermont and the Hydro-Québec’s Electric Circuit, has seen the construction of more than 40 charging stations installed along the route (18 on the QC side and 23 on the VT side). The initiative is the result of discussions that took place at the 2013 Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers and exemplifies the close cross-border cooperation in the region and its tightly-integrated energy relationship.

Vermont–Canada trade

  • Vermont exports to Canada: $1.2 billion
  • Vermont imports from Canada: $2.9 billion
  • Bilateral trade: $4.1 billion
  • Vermont services exports to Canada: $1.5 billion

Vermont–Canada tourism

  • Vermont visits by Canadians: 1,119,700
  • Vermont vacation spending by Canadians: $170 million

Vermont’s top goods exports to Canada

  • Paper & paperboard: $51 million
  • Cocoa & chocolate: $39 million
  • Pasta, breads & cereal preparations: $30 million
  • Wood & semi-finished wood products: $27 million
  • Softwood lumber: $21 million

Vermont’s top goods imports from Canada

  • Electricity: $626 million
  • Fuel oil: $267 million
  • Cocoa & chocolate: $213 million
  • Natural gas & other gases: $112 million
  • Office machines & parts: $69 million

Vermont exports to Canada by industry

  • Equipment & machinery (68%)
  • Agriculture (11%)
  • Forest products (9%)
  • Minerals & metals (3%)
  • Transportation (2%)
  • Plastics & rubbers (2%)
  • Other (5%)

Vermont imports from Canada by industry

  • Energy (35%)
  • Equipment & machinery (33%)
  • Agriculture (16%)
  • Forest products (4%)
  • Minerals & metals (2%)
  • Apparel & textiles (2%)
  • Other (7%)

Vermont Jobs

  • 18,900 Vermont jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada

Vermont top services exports to Canada

  • Travel: $443 million
  • Business, professional & technical services: $351 million
  • Transportation services: $282 million
  • Telecom, computer & information services: $174 million
  • Royalties & license fees: $114 million


  • 18,900 jobs in Vermont depend on Canada–U.S. trade and investment
  • Canada is Vermont’s #1 customer
  • Total Canada–Vermont goods trade: $4.1 billion

Connect to our team

For more information on Vermont’s trade with Canada, please contact our trade team in Boston.

September 2016
Unless otherwise mentioned, all figures are based on 2015 data in U.S. dollars. Statistics Canada: 2014 tourism, based on combined same-day and overnight travel (8/2016 release, US$1.00=C$1.1045). U.S. Census Bureau: goods trade, Canada’s export ranking (2/2016 release). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: goods and services trade (3/2016 release). Trade Partnership: 2014 services trade (11/2015 release). Job numbers are from a study commissioned by the Government of Canada (11/2014 release, 2013 data). Figures may not add up due to rounding. Produced by the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C.

Vermont

Une plaque tournante mondiale de fabrication dans le Vermont

Machine de moulage par injectionFournisseur sous marque de fabrique, l’entreprise ontarienne Husky Injection Molding Systems est, dans le monde, le plus important fournisseur d’équipement de moulage par injection et de services à l’industrie des plastiques ; elle compte des clients dans plus de 100 pays. L’entreprise canadienne est l’un des plus gros employeurs du Vermont, avec environ 350 employés à son usine de Milton. Husky produit une large gamme de produits en plastique, notamment des bouteilles et bouchons pour boissons, des contenants pour aliments et des composants médicaux. Ouvert en 1998, son site de 700 acres de Milton est l’un des centres mondiaux de l’entreprise pour la fabrication, de même qu’un centre du savoir pour les canaux chauffants et les régulateurs de température pour canaux chauffants.

Une firme québécoise soutient le Royaume du Nord-Est

L’entreprise canadienne Louis Garneau, spécialisée dans l’habillement pour cyclistes, a investi 8 M$ pour accroître ses activités à Derby. La société, qui a ouvert son siège des É.-U. à Newport (VT) en 1989, emploie plus de 90 personnes dans le Vermont. Cette situation est une nouvelle particulièrement bienvenue pour le Royaume du Nord-Est.

Un couloir de recharge de véhicules électriques relie le Vermont et le Québec

Depuis 2013, le Vermont et le Québec ont établi un partenariat pour la mise en place d’un couloir de recharge de véhicules électriques qui relie Burlington et Montréal. Résultat d’un accord entre Drive Electric Vermont et le Circuit électrique d’Hydro-Québec, le couloir a permis la construction de plus de 40 stations de recharge installées le long de la route (18 du côté du QC et 23 du côté du VT). L’initiative est le résultat des discussions qui ont eu lieu lors de l’édition 2013 de la Conférence des gouverneurs de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et des premiers ministres de l’Est du Canada ; elle illustre l’étroite coopération transfrontalière dans la région et la forte interdépendance énergétique dans cette région.

Commerce Vermont–Canada

  • Exportations de marchandises du VT vers le Canada : 1,2 milliards $
  • Importations de marchandises du VT en provenance du Canada : 2,9 milliards $
  • Échanges bilatéraux : 4,1 milliards $
  • Exportations de services du VT vers le Canada : 1,5 milliards $

Tourisme Vermont–Canada

  • Visites des Canadiens dans le VT : 1117 000
  • Dépenses de vacances des Canadiens dans le VT : 48 millions $

Principales exportations de marchandises dans le  Vermont vers le Canada

  • Papier et carton : 51 millions $
  • Cacao et chocolat : 39 millions $
  • Pâtes, pains et préparations céréalières : 30 millions $
  • Bois et produits du bois semi-finis : 27 millions $
  • Bois d’oeuvre résineux : 21 millions $

Principales importations de marchandises du  Vermont en provenance du Canada

  • Électricité : 626 millions $
  • Mazout : 267 millions $
  • Cacao et chocolat : 213 millions $
  • Gaz naturel et autres gaz : 112 millions $
  • Machines et fournitures de bureau : 69 millions $

Vermont exporte 1,2 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Équipement et machines (68 %)
  • Agriculture (11 %)
  • Produits forestiers (9 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (3 %)
  • Transports (2 %)
  • Plastiques et caoutchoucs (2 %)
  • Autres (5 %)

Vermont importe 2,9 milliards $ en marchandises du Canada

  • Énergie (35 %)
  • Équipement et machines (33 %)
  • Agriculture (16 %)
  • Produits forestiers (4 %)
  • Minerals et métaux (2 %)
  • Vêtements et textiles (2 %)
  • Autres (7 %)
18 900 emplois au Vermont dépendent du commerce et de l’investissement avec le Canada

Principales exportations de services dans le  Vermont vers le Canada

  • Voyage: 443 millions $
  • Services commerciaux, professionnels et techniques: 351 millions $
  • Services de transport: 282 millions $
  • Services de télécom, d’informatique et d’information: 174 millions $
  • Redevances et droits de licences: 114 millions $

Faits saillants

  • 18 900 emplois au Vermont dépendent du commerce et investissement avec le Canada
  • Le Canada est le principal client dans le Vermont
  • Commerce total de marchandises entre le Canada et Vermont : 4,1 milliards $

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur les échanges entre le Canada et le Vermont, prière de contacter l’équipe des affaires commerciales à Boston.

Avril 2016
À moins d’avis contraire, toutes les statistiques proviennent de données de 2015 et sont en dollars américains. U.S. Census Bureau : commerce, classement des exportations canadiennes (2/2016). Statistique Canada : 2013 tourisme, basé sur le voyage de même jour et de nuit combiné (5/2015, US$1.00=C$1.0299). U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis : produits et le commerce des services (3/2016). Trade Partnership : le commerce des services 2014 (11/2015). Les chiffres de l’emplois sont d’une étude 2014 exécutée sur demande du gouvernement du Canada, basé sur les données de 2013. Les montants ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Produit par l’ambassade du Canada à Washington.