Border Travel

The Government of Canada recommends that Canadian citizens travel with a valid Canadian passport because it is the only reliable and universally accepted travel and identification document available to Canadians for the purpose of international travel.

Departure from the USA to Canada, and Entry to the USA from Canada

For Canadians who are permanent residents of the USA:

Although Customs and Border Protection will accept a valid Permanent Resident card in lieu of a passport, commercial carriers may have their own regulations. Should you wish to depart or re-enter the USA on your Permanent Resident card, please check in advance with your commercial carrier.

Note: should you be connecting from a U.S. domestic flight to your cross-border flight, please check in advance with each carrier being used.

Admission into the U.S. without the proper documentation is at the discretion of the Port of Entry.

Entry into Canada from the USA

For a full list of entry requirements into Canada for Canadian citizens, Canadian Permanent Residents, or US citizens, please visit the Canada Border Services Agency website.

Though the preferred travel document for all travellers is a passport, please note that Canadian citizens may enter Canada by personal motor vehicle with proof of Canadian citizenship (Canadian birth certificate or Canadian citizenship certificate) plus a valid government-issued photo ID (ex. state or provincial driver's license).

Children

Minor children 15 and under travelling by land or by sea may enter Canada with a valid passport or their U.S. or Canadian birth certificate.

We strongly recommend that children travelling across the border carry a consent letter proving they have permission to travel from every person with the legal right to make major decisions on their behalf, if that person is not accompanying the children on the trip. For example, children travelling alone, with groups or with only one custodial parent should travel with a consent letter. Please visit the travel.gc.ca website to download a sample letter of consent.

Criminal Admissibility

Consular Sections in the US cannot respond to any enquiries related to the admissibility of non-Canadians to Canada.

For varied reasons, the most common of which is possession of a criminal record, Canadians may be deemed inadmissible for entry into the USA.

Anyone with reason to believe they may be inadmissible should contact US authorities before attempting to enter the USA. Similar restrictions apply to non-Canadians who wish to enter Canada. See more Information about Canada's inadmissibility policy.

For additional enquiries please refer to the Visa and Immigration section of this website.

Other Useful Travel information

U.S. Travel Report

Up-to-the minute information about security, entry/exit requirements, health and important travel issues.

Emergency Assistance

Contact the Emergency Watch and Response Centre in Ottawa anytime.

  • 1-888-949-9993 (from US and Bermuda)
  • 1-888-772-6448 (from Puerto Rico)
  • 1-866-600-0184 (from US Virgin Islands)
  • 613-996-8885 (call collect where available)
  • Email: sos@international.gc.ca

Voyages transfrontaliers

Le gouvernement du Canada recommande à tous les citoyens canadiens de voyager avec un passeport canadien valide, étant le seul document de voyage et d'identité fiable universellement reconnu pour les Canadiens qui souhaitent voyager à l'étranger.

Départ des États-Unis vers le Canada – Entrer aux États-Unis depuis le Canada

Pour les Canadiens qui sont des résidents permanents des États-Unis :

Le service frontalier des États-Unis accepte un certificat valide de résident permanent en guise de passeport, mais lestransporteurs commerciaux peuvent avoir leur propre réglementation. Informez-vous à l'avance auprès de votre transporteur si vous souhaitez entrer ou sortir des États-Unis avec votre certificat de résident permanent.

Note : informez-vous également auprès de chaque transporteur si vous avez un vol de correspondance transfrontalier depuis un vol intérieur des États-Unis.
Sans un document approprié, l'autorisation d'entrer aux États-Unis est à la discrétion des agents des douanes.

Entrée au Canada depuis les États-Unis

Pour obtenir une liste complète des conditions d’entrée au Canada pour les citoyens canadiens, les résidents permanents du Canada ou les citoyens américains, consultez le site Web de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Le passeport est le document de voyage idéal pour tous les voyageurs. Toutefois, les citoyens canadiens peuvent entrer au Canada dans leur véhicule particulier en présentant une preuve de leur citoyenneté canadienne (certificat de naissance ou certificat de citoyenneté canadienne) et une pièce d'identité valide avec photo délivrée par le gouvernement (p. ex. permis de conduire d'une province ou d'un État).

Enfants

Les enfants de 15 ans et moins voyageant par voie terrestre ou maritime peuvent entrer au Canada en présentant un passeport valide ou leur certificat de naissance des États-Unis ou du Canada.

Nous recommandons fortement que tout enfant voyageant à l'étranger ait en sa possession une lettre de consentement prouvant qu'il a la permission de voyager. La lettre doit signer par chaque personne légalement responsable de l'enfant qui n'accompagne pas l’enfant pendant le voyage. Par exemple, un enfant qui voyage seul, en groupe ou avec un seul des deux parents ayant la garde doit avoir en main une lettre de consentement. Veuillez consulter le site Web Voyage.gc.ca pour télécharger un modèle de lettre de consentement.

Vérification des antécédents criminels

Les Services consulaires aux États-Unis ne peuvent répondre à aucune demande de renseignements concernant l'admissibilité des non-Canadiens au Canada.

Pour diverses raisons, la possession d'un casier judiciaire demeure pour les Canadiens la principale cause d'interdiction d'entrer aux États-Unis.

Quiconque ayant une raison de croire que c'est son cas doit communiquer avec les autorités américaines avant de traverser les frontières. Des restrictions semblables s'appliquent aux non-Canadiens souhaitant entrer au Canada. Plus amples informations sur la politique d'interdiction de territoire.

Pour obtenir un plus d'information, consultez la section Visas et immigration de notre site Web.

Autres documents de voyage utiles

Rapport de voyage pour les États-Unis

Informations sur la sécurité, la santé, les exigences d'entrée et des questions importantes en voyage.

Aide en cas d'urgence

Vous pouvez communiquer avec le Centre de surveillance et d'intervention d'urgence à Ottawa en tout temps.

  • 1-888-949-9993 (des États-Unis et des Bermudes)
  • 1-888-772-6448 (de Porto Rico)
  • 1-866-600-0184 (des îles Vierges américaines)
  • 613-996-8885 (appel à frais virés, où le service est offert)
  • Courriel : sos@international.gc.ca