Security and Defence Cooperation

The United States is Canada's most important security and defence partner. Security and Defence relations between the two countries are longstanding, well-entrenched and highly successful.

This relationship reflects a unique friendship, underpinned by common values and close economic interdependence that has evolved over the course of the last century.

Canada and the U.S. are committed to strengthening the security of the border by working cooperatively to:

  • Address threats early;
  • Faciliate trade , economic growth and jobs;
  • Integrate cross-border law enforcement; and
  • Bolster critical infrastructure and cyber-security

For more on current areas of Canada-US Security Cooperation:

Defence Relations

The United States is Canada’s most important ally and defence partner. Our defence relations are longstanding and well entrenched. We have been partners in the defence of North America since the Second World War.

Defence cooperation with the United States maximizes the security of Canadians as our nations continue to work together to effectively counter new threats to the continent. We also cooperate closely in support of international peace and security, from the Caribbean to Ukraine and the Middle East.


NORAD: Two Nations, One Common Goal

For over 50 years, Canada and the United States have worked shoulder-to-shoulder in the bi-national North American Aerospace Defence Command (NORAD).  

NORAD is a bi-national military organization formally established in 1958 by Canada and the United States to monitor and defend North American airspace. NORAD plays a critical role in the defence and security of Canada and the United States.

NORAD monitors and tracks man-made objects in space and detects, validates and warns of attack against North America by aircraft, missiles or space vehicles, and also provides surveillance and control of Canadian and U.S. airspace. Canadians and Americans under NORAD command were the first military responders to the September 11th attacks.

NORAD is the longest-standing partnership in our collective histories, and the only agreement of its kind in the world. It remains a powerful symbol of trust and confidence between Canada and the United States in the common defence of our nations and our borders.

Highlights

  • The U.S. is Canada’s most important ally and defence partner.
  • Canada and the U.S. share a land border close to 9,000 kilometres (over 5,500 miles) in length.

Coopération en matière de sécurité et de défense

Les États-Unis sont le principal partenaire du Canada en matière de sécurité et de défense. Nos relations en cette matière sont anciennes, bien établies et reflètent une amitié unique qui repose sur des valeurs communes et sur une interdépendance économique étroite qui a évolué au cours du siècle dernier.

 

Le Canada et les É.-U. se sont engagés à renforcer la sécurité de la frontière en travaillant en collaboration pour :

  • Contrer rapidement les menaces;
  • Faciliter le commerce, la croissance économique et l’emploi;
  • Intégrer l’application transfrontalière de la loi; et;
  • Renforcer les infrastructures cruciales et la cybersécurité.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la coopération canado-américaine en matière de sécurité :

Relations en matière de défense

Les États-Unis sont le principal allié et partenaire de défense du Canada. Nos relations en matière de défense sont anciennes et bien établies. Nous sommes partenaires dans la défense de l’Amérique du Nord depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

La coopération avec les États-Unis en matière de défense maximise la sécurité des Canadiens, alors que nos pays continuent de travailler ensemble à lutter efficacement contre les nouvelles menaces sur le continent. De même, des Caraïbes à l’Ukraine et au Moyen-Orient, nous coopérons étroitement pour contribuer à appuyer la paix et la sécurité internationales.

NORAD : deux nations, un objectif commun

Depuis plus de 50 ans, le Canada et les États-Unis collaborent étroitement au sein du Commandement binational de la défense aérospatiale de l’Amérique du Nord (NORAD). Le NORAD est un organisme militaire binational créé officiellement en 1958 par les deux pays pour surveiller et défendre l’espace aérien nord-américain.

Le NORAD joue un rôle essentiel dans la défense et la sécurité du Canada et des États-Unis : il surveille et repère les objets dans l’espace aérien; détecte, valide et signale d’éventuelles attaques menées par des aéronefs, des missiles ou des astronefs contre l’Amérique du Nord; surveille et contrôle l’espace aérien des deux pays. Les Canadiens et les Américains placés sous le commandement du NORAD ont été les premiers militaires à répondre aux attentats du 11 septembre.

Il représente le partenariat le plus durable de l’histoire collective des deux pays et l’unique accord de ce type dans le monde. Il demeure un puissant symbole de la confiance entre le Canada et les États-Unis pour la défense commune des deux territoires et de leurs frontières.

Faits saillants

  • Les États-Unis sont le principal allié et partenaire de défense du Canada.
  • Les États-Unis et le Canada partagent une frontière terrestre qui s'étend sur près de 9 000 km.